Skip to content

EN RESTAURANT IN NY

June 17, 2011

New York, LA, Hawaii;  this week we’ve covered almost all of the US time zones! So jumping back to NY, we did a tasting menu this past weeekend at En Restaurant that was both gorgeous and pleasing to the taste buds.  If you can believe it, we fit this dinner in after our Saturday day drinking/pig out fest at the Big Apple BBQ.  I was forewarned that we’d be doing a lot of eating over the weekend, so despite agreeing to dinner, then realizing my meager appetite en route to En, after we sipped on some sake and champagne, I somehow tricked my stomach into thinking it was dinner time; after all, it was 7pm on the west coast.

I wish LA had an En Restaurant.  The open floor plan with monstrously high ceilings and minimal decor creates a sort of sanctuary, away from the crowded and bustling streets of NY.  Their use of wood tables and stone floors makes the space very calming and serene, with traditional tatami rooms in back, where you sit on the floor and rest your feet in the space under the table.  The friendly waitstaff was very knowledgeable, and most of them spoke Japanese; I had been drinking all day so I busted out some questions in my mom’s native tongue…some could say I was showing off.  Whatever, I had to brush up on my Japanese and this was the perfect opportunity!

The pretty flower arrangements are a nice touch.


I give you En Restaurant’s artfully delicious tasting menu…

From the top: Lightly seared tuna in a garlic soy sauce & egg, White asparagus tosazue gelée, Nanohana and sakura shrimp ohitashi (boiled vegetables served chilled in a broth)


Chef’s Seven Piece Sashimi Selection: Blue Angel shrimp, salmon, young yellowtail (kampachi), and sea bream (madai)

Squid Shabu Shabu


Lobster Ishiyaki – stone grilled lobster with a miso sauce and a nice smokey flavor!
Corn Chawanmushi – fresh corn and egg custard
Saikyo Miso Foie Gras & Filet – Saikyo miso marinated Hudson Valley foie gras & USDA Prime Filet, grilled

The foie gras and filet were my favorite!  Although, I did love the uni and ikura with the carby green tea heaven.

Uni Cha Soba – Chilled green tea soba in iriko dashi with a generous portion of Santa Barbara sea urchin and ikura.

Strawberry Panna Cotta with a strawberry cookie

The only thing I needed after this meal was sleep, a couple of advil (to alleviate my hangover the next morning) and to go on a diet.  The advil worked.  The diet, not so much.

M

No comments yet

Leave a comment